AGDA Design Awards 2020
Student Finalist Gallery Live

Hello again!

Apoloigies for the multiple Friday announcements, but we wanted to get our Student Finalist Gallery live before the weekend, rather than having to make entrants wait until Monday.

We had a huge response to the Student Awards in 2020, with 3-4 times more than the average amount of entries. Because of the great response, we’re more than aware we’re going to have a significant amount of Finalists, more than we generally receive as entries in total, and as such, we’ve decided to introduce a Merit level to the Student Awards, to bridge the gap between the Distinction and Finalist Award Levels.

While it's great to have so much great work to include, it certainly adds a few extra hurdles, and again, we can't thank our jurors enough, with most of them judging both the Professional and Student leg of their particular categories. In 2020 we utalised our multiple juries to allow us to get the Publications jury to assess some of the Print sub-categories, and our Motion jury looked after the motion components of the Digital category, giving us a very specialised Student Jury over the following categories.

  • Identity
  • Print
  • Packaging
  • Digital
  • Design Crafts

So even though you might have already seen their names in recent days, we want to give another massive shout out and thank you to our amazing 2020 jury.

Ahmed Meer – Co-Founder & Head of Design Technology / Nightjar
Alby Furfaro – Head of Design / 303MullenLowe
Anthony Wymond – Founder & Creative Director / Ignite Online
Ashleigh Ivory – Head of Product /
Brett Layton – Company Owner / TwofromTwo
Chris Edser – Illustrator & Animator
Chris Plunkett – Senior Designer / Brand Foundry
Damian Hamilton – Brand Keeper & Designer / Cornershop
Dan Agostino – Head of Design, The Brand Agency
Darren Price – Executive Creative Director / Mighty Nice
Darren Song – Design Director / Interweave Group
David Macdonald – Creative Director / One Design
David Popov – Creative Director / POP & PAC
Elizaveta Pogossov – Senior Creative & Art Director / Accompany
Elliot Stansfield – Senior Designer / Studio South
Erin Johnson – Creative Director / Room3
Floriane Jambu – Senior Designer / DesignStudio
Gareth Proctor – Creative Director / Sonnet Studio
James Cowen – Founder & Creative Director / Yes Captain
Jamie Judges – Digital Director / Seesaw
Jane Cameron – Creative Director, Fete/Life
Jason Cornelius – Creative Director / Anaglyph Studio
Jonty Valentine – Co-Director/ Index Limited
Kate Owen – Design Director / Futago
Kevin Blackburn – Creative Director & Founder / Made by Big
Luke Scott _ Senior Designer / Alt Group
Matt Remphrey – Managing & Creative Director / Parallax
Marcie Schneider – Graphic Designer / Lateral Aspect
Megan Perkins – Branding, Communication Design & Strategy Consultant
Michaela Webb – Creative Director / Studio Round
Mick Thorp – Coach and Creative Director / Friend_Thorp
Mike Pepper – Head of Strategy / Designworks
Morgan Martin-Skerm – Director / Lightbulb Digital
Nathan Adams – Senior Designer, sector7g
Nathan Leong – Founder & Creative Director / The Distillery
Nathanael Jeanneret – Senior Graphic Designer / Onetonne
Nicky Hardcastle – Designer / Lecturer, Visual Communication Design / UTS
Nicola Mansfield – Managing Director / Interbrand
Patrick Clair – Director / Antibody
Patrick Scanlan – Director / Studio Hi Ho
Prue Jones – Design and Creative Director / Fjord
Ryan Guppy – Principal & Creative Director / 21-19
Shirley Abbatovi – Business Director / Years Months Days
Simon Pearce – Creative Director / Frame Creative
Stephen McCarthy – Director / McCarthy Design
Susie Nicolai – Director & Designer / Studio Piñata
Zoe Crocker – Designer / Never Sit Still
Zoë Sadokierski – Senior Lecturer / UTS:Design




Our congratulations to all! And please save the date for our online winners announcement on Thurs 3 December.

Best wishes, Adele T

(on behalf of Steve, Shane, and Simon – our 2020 AGDA Awards team)